PDP: No Makeup Week!

Section: Personal Development

On any given day, you’ll probably come across me looking as if I just walked off of a fantasy-genre movie set with glitter on my eyebrows, under my eyes, on my lips, or basically anywhere on my body that there is surface area. I plaster my face with cosmetics not because of a lack of self-confidence or self-esteem, but rather because it’s an artistic expression that I can easily portray upon the canvas that is my face. It’s a rather quick process – 30 minutes at most – where other artistic endeavors may take hours, days, weeks, or even months to complete. Makeup is simply applied and washed off at the end of the day. So, after being in the habit of creating myself every day for the past… I don’t know how many years, I decided I should do a no-makeup week just to see if I could, or if I would run back to my brushes like an addict to their needle. Excited to experience the simplicity of natural beauty and nervous regarding the emptiness of my wake-up routine, I went to sleep on the sixth of September dreaming of a fresh and unaffected façade.

Day 1 – September 7, 2016:
img_5624

Reflection: “I’m already beginning to rub my eyes like a normal human being again! You can’t do that when your mascara is on or else it’ll get really gross and nasty and racoon-y and that’s not the aesthetic I go for. Once this week’s over, however, it might be hard to get back into the habit of avoiding contact with my eyes.”

 

 

Day 2 – September 8, 2016:

img_5632Reflection: (I had already almost forgotten to document the day with a photo. Habits are just as hard to make as they are to break) “I’ve let my makeup hand go crazy, and it’s only the second day – what makes it legal, though, is that I did my magic on someone else. Allison in 002 ended up with a slammin’ highlight after I was done with her. She let me shape her brows and everything. She said they had never been even in her whole life and she challenged me to change that. Guess what I did? You bet your bottom dollar I made those sons of guns even. I’m pretty sure that once I graduate, I’m going to enroll in cosmetology school so I can make some more moolah on the side by making people’s faces into colorful works of art.”

Day 3 – September 9, 2016:

Reflection:
img_5653 “I was working on another PDP today, ‘Humans of Central Michigan,’ and for some reason I felt more valid talking to people and taking their photos without makeup on. I don’t know if that’s a cultural thing or a personal thing, that I feel that I’m able to be more successful socially if I appear less feminine. On another, lazier note, it is so easy to sleep without having to wash your face beforehand hallelujah thank the Beings to be praised.”

 

 

Day 4 – September 10, 2016: (A.K.A. Withdrawal Day)

 

img_5708

Reflection: “Okay, so not wearing makeup is a real time saver, for sure. The issue I have is that I just keep having the urge to draw all over my face constantly and I can’t. I thought that not being able to use my normal artistic mediuim would inspire me to go and try out other artistic endeavors, but that hasn’t happened yet, and I don’t know if it will. I’ve drawn twice, and the results kicked ass, but that inspiration came the day before I started this experimental week. Oh well, I guess I’ll dream in glitter tonight.”

 

 

Day 5 – September 11, 2016:

img_5701

Reflection: “A friend showed me the gardens today where the University grows some fresh fruits and veggies, and I couldn’t bring myself to eat one of the tomatoes she plucked for me. I named her Claudia, and we spent the whole day together before she rolled back off into the wilderness. It was helpful having another buddy, however faceless, go through this process with me… no matter how crazy I may have looked taking photos with a small tomato.”

 

 

 

 

 

Day 6 – September 12, 2016:

img_5714

Reflection: “I was in need of some serious cosmetic therapy with no way to express it, and I was getting sick of my hair not being the color that I wanted it to be, so I decided to dye it – again. The rose color turned the blue into a lovely pinkish-purple, and that satisfied my cravings for the day.”

 

 

 

 

Day 7 – September 13, 2016:

img_5719

Reflection: “This face is smiling because in 12 hours I’ll be able to use my face as a place to paint again what a lovely world this is. In the meantime, someone please offer up their canvas to me because I really need to fill in some eyebrows right now – I just watched a tutorial and I need to try out the technique immediately.”

 

 

 

Day 8 – September 14, 2016:

I am free. I have purple eyebrows today, gold on my eyelids, and a mauve-y nude colored lip. I am content going to classes with a naked face, but man, it feels good to be able to match my outfit’s aesthetic to that of my face. It was really good to let my skin breathe after plastering all that gunk on my face for such a long time, but I’m glad I have the ability to do it again. Honestly, I thought I was confident in my bare skin before this exercise, but I went into this with the mindset of, “I don’t need to impress anyone, anyway.”Now, I’m even more confident. I used to just bare my face inside the house when my family, boyfriend, or close friends were around, but I’ve realized that, dang, I’m pretty gosh darn cute and I can impress people with my natural beauty as well. I did run back to my brushes like an addict to their needle a few times, but it was in order to place product on another person’s face. It’s solidified the love I have for transforming natural beauty into something transcendent. This whole week has allowed me to explore the maxim that I promote that neither natural or artificial beauty is more appealing than the other, and it should be the individual in ownership of the face in question should be the one who decides what to do with it; without heavy affection of societal pressures (they can be quite converse at times).

Leave a Reply

