What is Important to You?

IMG_4878

It’s the way you wake up in the morning, it’s the way you brush your teeth, it’s in the way you style your hair – it is the underlying cause for how you hold yourself and run your day.

What is important to you?

Where does your mind take you when you fall asleep?

I once read a statement (or a quote of some kind; it’s been years and I can’t remember) that said, “If you wake up thinking about it, don’t stop working for it.” Winston Churchill said something similar with, “Never give up on something you can’t go a day without thinking about.”

As this year has progressed and as March is coming to its peak, I’ve become increasingly aware of how important these statements are. They are maxims that are beginning to define me in a way that they have not had the chance to before. There are two months until I am detached from the bosom that is the public school system that fed me state-required curriculum for 13 years of my life, and I could not be more terrified of something I’ve been looking forward to since I entered high school. After that, it’s a free fall in the hopes that I’ll land on my feet somewhere on Central Michigan University’s campus; it doesn’t even matter to me any longer that I’ll be a small fish in a large pond once I get there. It just matters to me that I dedicate myself to getting as much out of this last year of comfortable existence in the community I’ve always known. That means waking up with the intent to graduate with the GPA I’ve been holding onto, walking across the stage at graduation with Kate, and getting through the classes I’m taking not just because I have to, but because I want to. Wanting something is one of the most important parts of succeeding at doing something.

These statements have applied themselves to friendships that have found themselves sailing in rocky waters, as well. It’s not often that I find myself worried about the well-being of someone I care about at my own expense, but I ran into a wall recently where it seemed as though I was valuing one of my friends over the other due to the amount of time we spent together. I finally came to the conclusion – after much deliberation – that it wasn’t a case of appreciating one person over the other, it was rather a difference in activities they enjoy in my presence and vice versa. One prefers activity and adventure, while the other does not mind sitting in silence for a few hours so that we’re able to simply keep each other company.

I’m currently working on applying this mindset to other aspects of my life, and one in particular has given me a difficult challenge – but one I’m ready to take on with vigor.

Moral of the story: if you have a good feeling about something, have both the drive and the capacity to pursue it, you will succeed. It’s tough, but you’ve made it this far and you can go so much farther. Just answer the question of what is important to you, set your mind to it, and simply… succeed.

Much love and determination,

Quinn ❤

 

Leave a Reply

