Genesis 1:1

Ciao! As this is my first entry, I feel obliged to introduce myself and explain the motivation behind why I’ve decided to begin cataloguing life events I deem worthy to photograph and journal about. For starters, hi-name’s Quinn. I am a Grand Rapids native, though you’d never be able to tell because I’m constantly discovering my city and figuring out which roads don’t take me where I want to go.

Most of my summers have been divided between the suburbs of the big city and a little beach town by the name of Grand Haven.

Grand Haven Summer

My parents bought a cute little pre-21st century cottage out there a year before I was born, and I’m convinced that I’m the middle child in my family although my 13-year-old brother is technically my only sibling.

Honestly, I have to give my parents major props for predicting exactly what has happened regarding my relationship with this little yellow box of a cottage we call the Groove Den (note: a contest within the family was held to name the place, and I think my aunt’s nomenclature aptly won).

IMG_7268 IMG_7272 IMG_7291 IMG_7295

When I was slightly more of a youngin’ than I am now, I completely abhorred our cottage. My arachnophobia ran rampant, I couldn’t see my friends, I couldn’t go anywhere without a parent, and we had no television to our name. I was constantly told that when I got older and was allowed to go out and adventure on my own, I’d want to be there every waking moment. At the time, this was an ideal I could not fathom. Now-whether it’s due to my status as an employed citizen who would rather spend their free time in a cute lil’ beach bum tourist trap rather than suburbia, or if I enjoy experiencing said tourist trap amidst hundreds of people who don’t know my name-I must admit, my parents were undoubtedly correct. Maybe more than they predicted they would be.

Out there, I’ve broken the golden rule we are all taught as children endless times (sorry, mom). “Don’t talk to strangers” no longer applies to me.

IMG_7358IMG_7383

While the ‘strangers’ I normally talk to are dogs or their owners, sometimes it includes the occasional barista, tourist, skater, or-most recently-two guys videotaping their buddy jumping out of the sawgrass with a plastic eagle head on. When I asked what was going on, their friend “caw-caw”‘ed, and I received, “This is what’s happening.” As a response. I found it satisfactory.

That’s one of the reasons I love GH so much. It’s a kitschy town with kitschy people, and every time I’m there, there’s a new pool of people to gather life experiences from… Which is a fantastic segue into explaining the reasons behind the construction of a website dedicated to portraying this certain perspective. If I could sum up what I want to be taken away from the posts that will be made (with no particular schedule until my life decides it wants to get a tad more organized, may I add) in one ideal, it would be that life, in all ways, is inherently beautiful. That-yes-there’s the good, the bad, and the ugly; but with God, Krishna, Allah, His Holiness the Dalai Lama-whomever as my witness, the meaning of life is to do no harm and experience every aspect of beauty this life has to offer.

IMG_7310Grand Haven Summer

thumb_IMG_2077_1024

I will portray this in the best way I know how.

Formerly, I believed this to be through music. More recently, through the direction and formulation of films. While this may still be true, I’ve decided to open my eyes to other medias that may come to portray this goal in its purest form.

This endeavor is manifesting as a photojournalism adventure. How long it will endure is unclear, but I hope you will join me in the progression towards experiencing beauty to the fullest of our ability as human beings.thumb_IMG_2164_1024

Much love,

Quinn

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. OMG YOU’RE SUCH A GOOD WRITER!!!
    I can’t wait to read the rest of your blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

